Sunday, October 21, 2018

[LISTEN] // Goodbye is the sonic brainchild of Los Angeles based photographer and visual artist Jeff Fribourg. With a background in graphic design, Fribourg imbues his work with a sense of architectural composition, layering angular guitar riffs and analog synths over throbbing drums and driving bass. 

Fribourg developed his love affair with synthesizers -- and his open-minded approach to music -- as a founding member of LA psych-kraut favorites Froth. However, it was only with the creation of that he was able to fully explore his eclectic musical inclinations. Combining elements of punk, shoegaze and post-punk, the project never commits to a singular worldview, allowing Fribourg’s vision to go anywhere without sounding ironic or forced. 

With the release of Goodbye, the band’s first LP due in late May on felte, offers a genre-defying sonic document that finds them maximizing the creative potential of the studio while always remaining true to their dynamic and arresting live sound. Mixed and mastered by Mikey Young of Total Control, takes a carefully orchestrated approach to chaos and adds Fribourg’s own subtle knack for memorable hooks and soft, melodic passages.

℗ + © 2018 felte 
All songs written by 
Recorded by Dante White Aliano at The Cone 
Mixed and mastered by Mikey Young 
Additional recording by Robert Cifuentes 
Art by Jeff Fribourg 
Published by Publishing Designee 

Jeff Fribourg - Vox/synthesizers/guitar/drum machines/noise 
Laena Geronimo - Vox/bass/violin (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9) 
Nicholas Ventura - Guitar (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9) 
Nick Winfrey - Guitar (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9) 
Robert Cifuentes - Guitar (8, 10) 
Cameron Allen - Drums (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9)